Due to the complex COVID-19 situation, the SLPC/CIDLS 9 Conference will be postponed to Spring 2021. We hope you stay safe and healthy.

Dates of the conference: April 29 & 30, 2021
Conference Location: Concordia University, Montreal, Canada (online)
Official Conference Languages: English and French

Hosted by the Concordia University’s Department of French Studies in Montréal, Québec, the 9th International Conference on Second Language Pedagogies (SLPC9) will explore pedagogical approaches, research-informed practices, and scholarly research that focuses on second/foreign language learning as they relate to current post-secondary education contexts.

SLPC9 provides the opportunity to present empirical or theoretical research, as well as create opportunities for further collaboration on topics related to:

  • integration of technology into the language classroom
  • application of theories related to second and foreign language learning
  • strategies and techniques related to active learning
  • experiential learning, community engagement and service learning
  • effective practices in planning, teaching and evaluation
  • innovative teaching methods

Invited speakers

Cynthia Eid, Director of the Pedagogy and of the Innovation, Groupe IGS, Paris-Lyon and Toulouse, France. Vice-president of the International Federation of Teachers of French.

Greg Kessler, Professor of Instructional Technology at the Patton College of Education, Ohio University. Editor of the CALICO Equinox book series, Advances in CALL Practice & Research.

If you wish to contact the SLPC9 organizing committee, please write to slpc.cidls2020@concordia.ca

Local Organizing Committee (Concordia University, Département d’études françaises)

Davy Bigot, Adel Jebali, Tracy Heranic, Svetla Kamenova, Denis Liakin, Fabien Olivry, Diane Querrien

SLPC Executive Board

Alena Barysevich (University of Guelph), Rosa Junghwa Hong (University of Toronto Mississauga), Natallia Liakina (McGill University), Eliane Lousada (Universidade de São Paulo)

Scientific Committee

Frédérique Arroyas (University of Guelph), Alena Barysevich (University of Guelph), Catherine Caws (University of Victoria), Walcir Cardoso (Concordia University), Sunny Lau Man Chu (Bishop’s University), Jeroen Darquennes (Université de Namur), Olivier Dezutter (Université de Sherbrooke), Flavia Fazon (Centre de langues du Parana), Nicolas Guichon (Université Lumière-Lyon2), Marie-Josée Hamel (Université d’Ottawa), Rosa Junghwa Hong (University of Toronto Mississauga), Adel Jebali (Concordia University), Denis Liakin (Concordia University), Natallia Liakina (McGill University), Eliane Lousada, (Universidade de São Paulo), Laura Masello (Universidad de la República), Deborah Meunier (Université de Liège), Denise Mohan (University of Guelph), Diane Querrien (Concordia University), Emmanuelle Rassart (Université de Louvain), Julie Sykes (University of Oregon), Lynn Thomas (Université de Sherbrooke), Adelina Vasquez Herrera (Universidad Autónoma de Querétaro)